What time we’ll know who won the council and mayor votes in every borough

On 5 May, millions of citizens will flock to polling stations to cast their vote in the 2022 local elections.

The public will have their chance to elect local representatives in every council in London, as well as in Scotland, Wales and other parts of England.

These elections will decide who is responsible for the day-to-day running of your local area such as social care, leisure facilities, bin collection and planning.

Which London elections are being contested?

 All London borough councillor seats will be up for re-election as part of the 2022 local elections.

In most local elections just a third of councillors go up for election at a time. But all the seats are up for grabs in the London elections, meaning quite a few councils could change leadership.

The 32 London boroughs are all divided into wards, which are each represented by seats. The councillors campaigning for each seat either represent different political parties or they can be independent.

You can vote for however many seats are up for election in your ward and for a mixture of parties if you wish.

Local mayors in Croydon, Hackney, Lewisham, Newham, Tower Hamlets and Watford are also being elected. This will be Croydon’s first even mayor following a local referendum last year.

When will the results come in?

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday 5 May but it may take a few days until all the London results are in.

The first key London results are expected from 3am including Westminster and Wandsworth, which are seen as key targets for Labour who hopes to wrest control from the Tories.

By 7am, the result is due from Conservative-run Barnet, which is one of Labour’s key targets. All overnight results are also due by this time.

From then on, the last results will trickle in from Friday 6 May to Saturday 7 May.

Full list of declarations from councils

Late Thursday evening / early morning on Friday 6 May

Westminster – 3am

Waltham Forest – 3am

Hammersmith & Fulham – 3am

Redbridge – 3:30am

Barking & Dagenham – 4am

Hillingdon – 4am

Ealing – 4am

Sutton – 4am

Bexley – 4:30am

Hounslow – 4:30am

Camden – 5am

Havering – 5am

Kensington & Chelsea – 5am

Merton – 5am

Southwark – 5am

Richmond-upon-Thames – 5:30am

Wandsworth – 5:30am

Enfield – 6am

Brent – 6:30am

Barnet – 7am

Friday 6 May daytime

Bromley – 3pm

Haringey – 4pm

Harrow – 5pm

Greenwich – 6pm

Islington – 6pm

Kingston-upon-Thames – 6pm

Lambeth – 6pm

Lewisham – 6pm

Newham – 7pm

Hackney – 7pm

Late Friday evening to early morning on Saturday 7 May

Croydon – 2am

Saturday 7 May daytime

Tower Hamlets – 5pm

Mayoral electoral results on Friday 6 May

Hackney – 12pm

Lewisham – 1pm

Newham – 1pm

Tower Hamlets – 5pm

Croydon – 10:30pm

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.